Ottawa, Canada – June 4, 2020 Kim Ghattas, Emmy-winning journalist; the Honourable Ratna Omidvar, Canadian Senator; Ambassador Annika Söder, Chair of the European Institute of Peace; and Bishop Precious Omuku,Archbishop of Canterbury’s Special Representative on Conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa, are among the new jurors of the Global Pluralism Award. The jury of international leaders, chaired by the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, former Canadian Prime Minister, will select the winners of the 2021 Global Pluralism Award.

The Award recognizes individuals and organisations whose high-impact, innovative initiatives are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity. The Award is a program of the Global Centre for Pluralism, an international research and education centre founded by His Highness the Aga Khan in partnership with the Government of Canada.

“The breath of expertise among the jurors speaks to a core belief of the Centre: promoting pluralism is the work of everyone, from all spheres of life. We are delighted to have these new members join our esteemed jury to select the champions of pluralism who will be awarded the 2021 Global Pluralism Award,” said Meredith Preston McGhie, Secretary General of the Global Centre for Pluralism.

“In these uncertain times, global communities of individuals and organizations continue to work tirelessly and courageously to build bridges across divides and isolation. The jury has a great responsibility to select Award recipients who demonstrate that a more equitable and connected world can emerge from this pandemic,” said the Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, Jury Chair.

The members of the jury represent a range of sectors, including policymaking, peacebuilding, human rights, interreligious dialogue, education, media and civil society. In their own careers, they are actively promoting greater equity and fighting exclusion. Jury members all appreciate first-hand the extraordinary effort it takes to build societies where differences are valued and respected.

The jury will name the three winners of the Award, who will each receive a prize of CAD $50,000 to further their work in support of pluralism at a ceremony in Ottawa, Canada in the fall of 2021.

The jury includes (alphabetical):

  • The Right Honourable Joe Clark, former Prime Minister and Foreign Affairs Minister of Canada, Canada (Chair)
    • Ambassador Annika Söder, Chair, European Institute of Peace, Sweden
    • Ms. Kim Ghattas, Non-resident Senior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Lebanon
    • Ms. Paula Gaviria Betancur, Director, COMPAZ Foundation & Former Presidential Advisor on Human Rights, Colombia
    • Bishop Precious Omuku, Archbishop of Canterbury’s Special Representative on Conflict in Sub-Saharan Africa, Nigeria
    • The Honourable Ratna Omidvar, Senator, Canada
    • Dr. Siva Kumari, Director General, International Baccalaureate, United State


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Seo wordpress plugin by

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)